In January of 2007, the county’s mental health service providers partnered to create the Kane County Mental Health Council. This alliance is dedicated to improving mental health services for children, adults and families in their communities. The alliance formed in response to community demand, and to the findings of the Kane County Health Department’s IPLAN (Illinois’ Project for Local Assessment of Needs). The independent Council formed to coordinate services and to make the system more responsive by bringing together provider organizations, mental health authorities, major funders of mental health services, mental health advocacy groups and public officials.

Following the 2014 Community Health Needs Assessment, Behavioral Health was selected as one of the top three health priorities in Kane County and assigned an action team. The Community Health Improvement Plan’s (CHIP) Behavioral Health Action Team has identified outcome objectives and impact objectives, with the overall mission of improving the mental health of Kane County residents by 2030. 

In 2017 the Kane County Mental Health Council merged with the CHIP Behavioral Health Action Team to improve services and be more inclusive of the agencies in our county. With this merger came our new name, Kane County Behavioral Health Council.